Double food save

4 Dec

I hope this counts, haha.  I’ve been saving the uneaten fruit slices (apple, mostly) in the freezer.  The bag filled up so I made a simple fruit puree.  I thought #2Child might eat some, but that wasn’t happening, so I used it in baked goods instead, breakfast cookies and some oatmeal muffins for Other Adult.

I realized that I haven’t bought cheese sticks in a long time.  The plastic packaging was the deal breaker there.  That also led to the homemade yogurt and to the cessation of granola bar purchasing, although OA gets them, and Clif bars, frequently. Now the argument is that OA needs them “for work” although OA also goes out to lunch every. single. day.  OA is not a brown bagger.  OA thinks my efforts to reduce waste and to conserve energy are silly.  Okay, now I’m pissed off.

2 Responses to “Double food save”

  1. Shannon December 14, 2012 at 2:21 am #

    Aww it’s not silly at all. I go in fits and starts on all that stuff. Usually in the winter, after the holidays, I bake and do everything from scratch and really think about the plastic. The fall is the worst for us as we are so busy and I was doing single serve everything…I felt like I had to turn in my copy of Tightwad Gazette, lol

    • greenstrivings December 14, 2012 at 6:48 am #

      It’s hard when real life derails your ideal life, isn’t it? “I’m going to cook from scratch every night” runs foul of “we just got home from work/picking kids up, it’s 6:00, everyone’s famished — oh look, Trader Joe’s linguini and clams is microwaveable! Hooray!” Let’s hope all the other nights when you cook from scratch, or avoid single serving packages, make up for it. I’ve got to believe that every little change helps. And thank you for the encouragement!

Leave a Reply

