Remembrances of thrifty finds

23 Oct

procrastinating and reading the Non Consumer Advocate blog.

http://thenonconsumeradvocate.com/2010/02/its-all-in-the-jeans/

She asks about great/favorite thrift store finds.

When I was in college I got a pair of shoes for $1. Sturdy, thick soles, I wore them for years. At the same store I got a warm jacket for $2. Nothing had prices; you just hauled your finds to the nice elderly lady at the front and said, “How much?” and waited with bated breath while she looked at the shoes and said, “Well, they’re in pretty good shape.  How about … [long pregnant pause] a dollar?” which she said as if she were expecting you to cast down the shoes in outrage.

Last summer, I got a long teal silk coat with the tags still on, originally priced at $120, for $5. I need to have it taken in but it is beautiful.

Once I found my mother a purse, of the exact brand she exclusively favors, with the tags still on, for $8; it retails new for $60.

#1Child found ice skates for $8 the same day that #2Child found Barbie rollerskates for $2.50. I have trained them well.

2 Responses to “Remembrances of thrifty finds”

  1. Shannon October 26, 2012 at 12:41 am #

    Thanks for stopping by, and for the fire extinguisher tip, not preachy at all!
    I love the thrift stores…I think I will enjoy reading 🙂

    • greenstrivings October 26, 2012 at 5:32 am #

      Oh good! After I left the comment I started second-guessing myself, because advice from a complete stranger can be weird, so I’m glad you took it in the spirit in which I intended it :). I’m sitting here at my cluttered desk thinking about how much I need to do your micro-space challenge. November for sure!

Leave a Reply

