Food waste, free fun, thrifting

15 Oct

An entire sweet potato went bad. Very sad.

On the plus side, #2Child enjoys my homemade yogurt with honey or maple syrup. I enjoy saving money and PACKAGING.  At the farmer’s market I got a wonderful avocado which made very delicious guacamole. OH! I checked the clearance section of the meat department and found several large roasts, 50% off, with an expiration date a couple of days safely in the future.  I bought two, stuck one in the freezer and the other in the crockpot. The crockpotted one so far provided two dinners for 4 and at least one lunch for 1 — all for $3.50.

This weekend the children and I enjoyed a friend’s birthday party (alas, not having my thrifting skills in place, I had to buy a new present — gift card) and also went to a free outdoor festival with a merry-go-round, bounce house, snacks, photo booth, and temporary tattoos. Did I mention it was all  free? The photo booth was my favorite part.

The other day #2Child and I swung by a thrift store while #1Child had a music class. I found a pair of pants for work and #2Child found some little tchotchkes. The children are not on board with the decluttering. We all went to a community rummage sale where #1Child spent hir own money; for my part, I got a skirt and two tops, a small picture frame for a print we got at the farmers market (it’s a card, but so pretty that we’ll frame it for one of the kids’ rooms — so original art for $3 including the frame!), face paint crayons, a shirt and a teapot for #2Child, all for $10, and the money supports a local food bank, so wins all around.  We went home happy.

Now to figure out how to bring in the kids’ Halloween party for a reasonable amount of money.

3 Responses to “Food waste, free fun, thrifting”

  1. Kerry October 16, 2012 at 4:22 pm #

    I have been in and out of so many thrift stores lately, I have decided enough Halloween stuff has already been manufactured (literally aisles and aisles). I picked up a few items yesterday for a party and I got a grocery sack full for about $3.00. I also had the idea that we would bob for apples and then use them as a second activity to make caramel apples. Mom dips them and the kids then affix candy to them. Two activities for the price of one and then you have a “take home” treat.
    As an aside, I am jealous you can go to farmer’s markets that sell avocados.

    • greenstrivings October 16, 2012 at 8:04 pm #

      We will definitely be checking out our neighborhood thrift stores for Halloween decor and anything we can use for games. The kids want to do a spider hunt (like an easter egg hunt) and I thought we’d do a couple of crafts, make slime, maybe play monster bingo and musical pumpkins. And they’ll probably run around screaming for a while. Last year #1Child did a great job of making labels with gross names for the snacks — dried cranberries were scabs, olives were ogre boogers, etc.

      Thank you for stopping by and commenting. And I love my farmer’s market, it’s small but comprehensive and not overrun with non-food vendors. It makes up for all the years when I lived in a place where the farmer’s market was exorbitantly expensive. You wouldn’t think the so-called “Breadbasket of America” would have such high-priced food, would you?

    • greenstrivings October 16, 2012 at 8:06 pm #

      P.S. The outdated browser on the computer I’m using won’t let me comment on your site, but your younger daughter shares a brain with one of my kids. Everything on TV is greeted by “I want that!” Sometimes I don’t even know why we have a TV. Oh right, because I don’t want to be strangled in my sleep by angry family members.

Leave a Reply

